Table creation strategy for thousands of IoT devices

My question is similar to this one: Table creation considerations
In short, I have to collect data from thousands of devices (potentially in the order of 100k), each of which is identified by a UUID.
Each device is of a given type, and there are a few types (about 50 different types; some types have more devices than others).
What’s a good strategy to create tables for such a setup? I understand that creating 100k tables might not be optimal, but I fear that creating one table per device type would end up degrading performance, first because it could have billions of records for the more popular device types, second because I would have to put the 128-bit device UUID in each row, potentially using up a lot of disk space.

Data would never expire and has a very simple format: for each device, it’s a series of (timestamp, value) tuples.
Sorry for the newbie question but I’m just starting out with cratedb (which looks impressive so far btw).

Hi,
Having billions of records on a single table is not a problem for CrateDB and performance does not degrade because of this.
So I would go for a design with a smallish number of tables which would allow me to easily run queries across devices.
If the amount of different properties returned by the different device types is not too high, we could put different device types together on a single table, you may want to check CrateDB’s OBJECT columns for this.
One possible way to address the issue of the long UUID consuming too much space on each row could be to create a separate mapping table where you could map the long UUIDs to integers perhaps?
I hope this helps.

Hi homer,